top ten tuesday

Love is in the Book // favorite tropes & book recs!

hi everyone! welcome to the valentine’s edition of top ten tuesday, where i’ll be talking all about my favorite tropes! pretty sure that my favorite tropes are also everyone’s favorite, so if you don’t have plan to celebrate valentine, you can always grab these books and celebrate with yourself. without further ado, here they are :

1. enemies-to-lovers/hate-to-love

who doesn’t love this trope? i’m 99% sure everyone and their grandmas love this trope. all those frustration and pent-up feelings that leads to attraction are very satisfying to read. enemies-to-lovers might have varying degree (from actual enemies to ‘enemies’ because of simple misunderstanding), but generally, i love them all as long as they’re not glorifying abusive behaviors. anyway, here’s some books with enemies-to-lovers trope that i love :

Continue reading “Love is in the Book // favorite tropes & book recs!”

4 stars · blog tour · book review · giveaway

Blog Tour : All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace (+Giveaway!)

see the tour schedule here

Title : All the Stars and Teeth
Author : Adalyn Grace
Genre : YA fantasy
Series : All the Stars and Teeth #1
Release Date : February 4th, 2020
Publisher : Imprint

⭐⭐⭐⭐

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | iBook | Book Depo

Set in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice, Adalyn Grace’s All the Stars and Teeth is a thrilling fantasy for fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series.
She will reign.

As princess of the island kingdom Visidia, Amora Montara has spent her entire life training to be High Animancer—the master of souls. The rest of the realm can choose their magic, but for Amora, it’s never been a choice. To secure her place as heir to the throne, she must prove her mastery of the monarchy’s dangerous soul magic.When her demonstration goes awry, Amora is forced to flee. She strikes a deal with Bastian, a mysterious pirate: he’ll help her prove she’s fit to rule, if she’ll help him reclaim his stolen magic.

But sailing the kingdom holds more wonder—and more peril—than Amora anticipated. A destructive new magic is on the rise, and if Amora is to conquer it, she’ll need to face legendary monsters, cross paths with vengeful mermaids, and deal with a stow-away she never expected… or risk the fate of Visidia and lose the crown forever.

I am the right choice. The only choice. And I will protect my kingdom.

Continue reading “Blog Tour : All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace (+Giveaway!)”

top ten tuesday

Will These Books Get 5 Stars From Me?

hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl

 

hello everyone! for today’s top ten tuesday topic is books i predict will get 5 stars. i thought it’s such a fun topic, and i’ve been thinking to do another post with the result whether my prediction come true or not (of course, i have to read all these books first). anyway, after scouring my goodreads TBR for a long time, here are some books that probably will get 5 stars from me :

1. chain of gold (the last hours #1) by cassandra clare
seeing that i love both the infernal devices and the dark artifices (never read TMI though), and seeing that TLH will feature one of my all-time favorite OTP (will and tessa), there’s a high chance i’ll give this book 5 stars. though, the 5 stars will be (mostly) because of the characters since i’m very attached to them ❤

2. serpent & dove (serpent & dove #1) by shelby mahurin
a mashed up between fake relationship and enemies to lovers trope? i’M LIVIN’ FOR IT. i know this book is already published but i haven’t buy it yet (but i will buy it soon! i need physical copy for this).

Continue reading “Will These Books Get 5 Stars From Me?”

monthly recap

Monthly Recap : January ’20

firstly, let me say happy new year and congrats on surviving the first month of 2020!! for new year, i celebrated it by having dinner with my family, and for lunar new year, i also had dinner with my family but spend the day visiting my relatives’s houses. i only meet my relatives a few times a year, so it’s nice. we also celebrated my brother’s birthday by having lunch, so yes, january is basically a month of celebration.

january is usually my most productive month, but come to think of it, i don’t think i did lots of things this month despite being off from college. i actually planned to try baking before realizing that the oven didn’t work anymore. i tried making mood journal on a particularly depressing day, but abandoned it a few days later since i realize humans could feel lots of emotions in one day and i don’t know what i feel the most 🤡. it seems like all i did is watch tv series and movies almost everyday, and of course, reading. it might sounds boring (and for some day, it is. sometimes i just wanna go out but i don’t know where to go), but i’m just trying to enjoy it since if all goes well, this could be my last or second-to-last holidays (before i have to work and won’t have month-long holiday anymore).

Continue reading “Monthly Recap : January ’20”

challenge and readathon

#Pondathon Sign Up and TBR List!

hi everyone! welcome to the sign up and TBR post of the Pondathon, created by CW @ The Quiet Pond. When CW tweet that she’s going to host a read-a-thon based on the Pond, i’ve been lowkey lurking around to find out when it happen. i don’t think i’ve participated in read-a-thon before since the timing is never right, but since Pondathon has various teams with different challenges (and one of them is easy enough for me), i figured i’ll give it a try. also, i’m not going to pass up an opportunity to make my own character for Pondathon 😉

♣ what is #Pondathon?

the Pondathon is a co-operative and story-driven readathon hosted and run by CW from The Quiet Pond. the aim of the Pondathon is to read books and collect points to protect the friends over at The Quiet Pond from the encroaching malevolent forces that threaten our friends in the forest. the readathon takes place from January 24th 2020 to March 7th 2020.

Continue reading “#Pondathon Sign Up and TBR List!”

top ten tuesday

New to the Bookshelf!

hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl

 

hi everyone! welcome back for another top ten tuesday post. for today TTT’s topic, we’ll be talking about ten recent books that i got. note that i’m only talking about physical books here, since i don’t keep track of ebooks and e-arcs that i got (though i probably should’ve now). anyway, here we go :

1-2. the wicked king and the queen of nothing (the folk of the air #2 and #3) by holly black
got the wicked king because it was on sale, and ordered the queen of nothing a few days later so i could marathon the series. anyway, i’m now re-reading the cruel prince before continuing this series.

Continue reading “New to the Bookshelf!”

4.5 stars · arc · book review

ARC Review : Tweet Cute by Emma Lord

Title : Tweet Cute
Author : Emma Lord
Genre : YA contemporary
Release Date : January 21st, 2020
Publisher : Wednesday Books

⭐⭐⭐⭐½

GOODREADS | PURCHASE

A fresh, irresistible rom-com from debut author Emma Lord about the chances we take, the paths life can lead us on, and how love can be found in the opposite place you expected.Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around perfectionist. Her family may be falling apart, but their massive fast-food chain is booming ― mainly thanks to Pepper, who is barely managing to juggle real life while secretly running Big League Burger’s massive Twitter account.

Enter Jack, class clown and constant thorn in Pepper’s side. When he isn’t trying to duck out of his obscenely popular twin’s shadow, he’s busy working in his family’s deli. His relationship with the business that holds his future might be love/hate, but when Big League Burger steals his grandma’s iconic grilled cheese recipe, he’ll do whatever it takes to take them down, one tweet at a time.

All’s fair in love and cheese ― that is, until Pepper and Jack’s spat turns into a viral Twitter war. Little do they know, while they’re publicly duking it out with snarky memes and retweet battles, they’re also falling for each other in real life ― on an anonymous chat app Jack built.

As their relationship deepens and their online shenanigans escalate ― people on the internet are shipping them?? ― their battle gets more and more personal, until even these two rivals can’t ignore they were destined for the most unexpected, awkward, all-the-feels romance that neither of them expected.

Continue reading “ARC Review : Tweet Cute by Emma Lord”

top ten tuesday

Tiffany’s Most Anticipated 2020 Release

hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl

 

hi everyone! welcome back to another top ten tuesday post. today TTT topic is one of my favorite, because you can never get too many book recs (also, i only have like, 37 books on my 2020 shelf in goodreads?? i NEED more recs). anyway, without further ado, here’s my most anticipated release for the first half of 2020 :

1. chain of gold (the last hours #1) by cassandra clare
release date : march 3rd, 2020
i’ve been a fan of shadowhunter series ever since i devour the infernal devices series (including almost all will/tessa fanfics i could find. don’t judge me). that’s why i’m so excited to meet the tid gang again, this time with their children!

2. the shadows between us by tricia levenseller
release date : february 25th, 2020
i never read any of tricia levenseller’s books (they’re in my TBR though), but when i heard that someone describe this book as “slytherin romance” i’m practically SOLD. these characters sound wicked and i’m here for it.

Continue reading “Tiffany’s Most Anticipated 2020 Release”

4 stars · blog tour · book review · giveaway

Blog Tour : Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen (+Giveaway!)

See the full tour schedule here

Title : Loveboat, Taipei
Author : Abigail Hing Wen
Genre : YA contemporary
Release Date : January 7th, 2020
Publisher : HarperCollins

⭐⭐⭐⭐

GOODREADS | AMAZON | B&N | BOOK DEPOSITORY

For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hint of La La Land

When eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale-bound prodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they were nine—and her parents’ yardstick for her never-measuring-up life.

Unbeknownst to her parents, however, the program is actually an infamous teen meet-market nicknamed Loveboat, where the kids are more into clubbing than calligraphy and drinking snake-blood sake than touring sacred shrines.

Free for the first time, Ever sets out to break all her parents’ uber-strict rules—but how far can she go before she breaks her own heart?

Continue reading “Blog Tour : Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen (+Giveaway!)”

end of year recap

2019 End of Year Recaps

welcome to my last post in 2019! since 4 years ago, it seems to be a tradition of mine to post a book and blog recaps based on Jaime @ The Perpetual Page Turner‘s post. i didn’t read and blog as many as before, so i tweaked the post a little bit so i don’t have to put the same book over and over again 😉 without further ado, here they are :
*cover links to goodreads

2019 READING STATS

Number Of Books You Read: 40 books
Number of Re-Reads: 6 books
Genre You Read The Most From: YA contemporary

Continue reading “2019 End of Year Recaps”