4 stars · arc · book review

ARC Review : The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He

Title : The Ones We’re Meant to Find
Author : Joan He
Genre : YA sci-fi
Release Date : May 4th, 2021
Publisher : Roaring Brook Press

Rating: 4 out of 5.

GOODREADS | PURCHASE

Cee has been trapped on an abandoned island for three years without any recollection of how she arrived, or memories from her life prior. All she knows is that somewhere out there, beyond the horizon, she has a sister named Kay. Determined to find her, Cee devotes her days to building a boat from junk parts scavenged inland, doing everything in her power to survive until the day she gets off the island and reunites with her sister.

In a world apart, 16-year-old STEM prodigy Kasey Mizuhara is also living a life of isolation. The eco-city she calls home is one of eight levitating around the world, built for people who protected the planet―and now need protecting from it. With natural disasters on the rise due to climate change, eco-cities provide clean air, water, and shelter. Their residents, in exchange, must spend at least a third of their time in stasis pods, conducting business virtually whenever possible to reduce their environmental footprint. While Kasey, an introvert and loner, doesn’t mind the lifestyle, her sister Celia hated it. Popular and lovable, Celia much preferred the outside world. But no one could have predicted that Celia would take a boat out to sea, never to return.

Now it’s been three months since Celia’s disappearance, and Kasey has given up hope. Logic says that her sister must be dead. But as the public decries her stance, she starts to second guess herself and decides to retrace Celia’s last steps. Where they’ll lead her, she does not know. Her sister was full of secrets. But Kasey has a secret of her own.

Continue reading “ARC Review : The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He”
4 stars · blog tour · book review · giveaway

Blog Tour : Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas (+Giveaway!)

Check out the full schedule here

Title : Lost in the Never Woods
Author : Aiden Thomas
Genre : YA fantasy
Release Date : March 23rd, 2021
Publisher : Swoon Reads

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Goodreads | B&N | Amazon

When children go missing, people want answers. When children go missing in the small coastal town of Astoria, people look to Wendy for answers.

It’s been five years since Wendy and her two brothers went missing the woods, but when the town’s children start to disappear, the questions surrounding her brothers’ mysterious circumstances are brought back into light. Attempting to flee her past, Wendy almost runs over an unconscious boy lying in the middle of the road, and gets pulled into the mystery haunting the town.

Peter, a boy she thought lived only in her stories, claims that if they don’t do something, the missing children will meet the same fate as her brothers. In order to find them and rescue the missing kids, Wendy must confront what’s waiting for her in the woods.

Continue reading “Blog Tour : Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas (+Giveaway!)”
monthly recap

Monthly Recap : January ’21

Happy new year 2021! I can’t believe we’ve passed the first month of 2021. Usually, January is my most productive month compared to other months, but not this year. I honestly feel like this is version 2.0 of 2020 since nothing seems to change.

First thing first, I finally graduated from college!! I actually passed my thesis defense back in December, but it became official in January when I got the letter. Now I’m just waiting for the graduation ceremony in March, while doing something that every recent college-grad hate…job hunting. Not gonna lie, most of my January were spent looking for jobs at job portals but ended up applying to none of them because I’m honestly confused at what I want to do. I don’t like my major that much which is why I’m looking for something else, but I haven’t found that something yet. If you have any tips about finding job as a recent graduates I’d appreciate itContinue reading “Monthly Recap : January ’21”

4 stars · arc · book review

ARC Review : A Taste for Love by Jennifer Yen

Title : A Taste for Love
Author : Jennifer Yen
Genre : YA Contemporary
Release Date : February 2nd, 2021
Publisher : Razorbill

Rating: 4 out of 5.

GOODREADS | PURCHASE

For fans of Jenny Han, Jane Austen, and The Great British Baking ShowA Taste for Love, is a delicious rom com about first love, familial expectations, and making the perfect bao.

To her friends, high school senior Liza Yang is nearly perfect. Smart, kind, and pretty, she dreams big and never shies away from a challenge. But to her mom, Liza is anything but. Compared to her older sister Jeannie, Liza is stubborn, rebellious, and worst of all, determined to push back against all of Mrs. Yang’s traditional values, especially when it comes to dating.

The one thing mother and daughter do agree on is their love of baking. Mrs. Yang is the owner of Houston’s popular Yin & Yang Bakery. With college just around the corner, Liza agrees to help out at the bakery’s annual junior competition to prove to her mom that she’s more than her rebellious tendencies once and for all. But when Liza arrives on the first day of the bake-off, she realizes there’s a catch: all of the contestants are young Asian American men her mother has handpicked for Liza to date.

The bachelorette situation Liza has found herself in is made even worse when she happens to be grudgingly attracted to one of the contestants; the stoic, impenetrable, annoyingly hot James Wong. As she battles against her feelings for James, and for her mother’s approval, Liza begins to realize there’s no tried and true recipe for love.

Continue reading “ARC Review : A Taste for Love by Jennifer Yen”

top ten tuesday

10 New Favorite Authors I Discovered in 2020

Hello everyone! Back in 2020, I manage to read a total of 65 books, and more than half of them (46 books, to be exact) are by authors whose books I’ve never read before. So today, I’m going to feature 10 new favorite authors that I discovered in 2020. This is honestly harder than it sounds since I read lots of great books last year (in fact, I think 2020 is my best reading year so far!), but I manage to narrow it down to 10 authors. Without further ado, here they are :

1. R.F. Kuang
Book(s) read : 3 (The Poppy War, The Dragon Republic, The Burning God)
Given that The Poppy War trilogy is my favorite series in 2020, I think she deserves the #1 spot in this list. I’ve never been more glad to pick up a book, since I learn so much about my own history and ancestry through this series. I’m definitely going to re-read TPW again this year!

Continue reading “10 New Favorite Authors I Discovered in 2020”
5 stars · book review

Review : A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

Title : A Conjuring of Light
Author : V.E. Schwab
Series : Shades of Magic #3
Genre : YA fantasy
Release Date : February 28th, 2017
Publisher : Titan Books

Rating: 5 out of 5.

GOODREADS | PURCHASE

Witness the fate of beloved heroes – and enemies.
THE BALANCE OF POWER HAS FINALLY TIPPED…
The precarious equilibrium among four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise.
WHO WILL CRUMBLE?
Kell – once assumed to be the last surviving Antari – begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. And in the wake of tragedy, can Arnes survive?
WHO WILL RISE?
Lila Bard, once a commonplace – but never common – thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery of the Night Spire collects his crew, attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible.
WHO WILL TAKE CONTROL?
And an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown while a fallen hero tries to save a world in decay.

Continue reading “Review : A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab”

end of year recap

2020 End of Year Recaps

Hello everyone! It’s the last day of 2020, so just like every year, it’s time for my end of year recaps. I think we all can collectively agree that 2020 isn’t a great year, but in terms of reading, it’s actually my best one. This year, I manage to beat my previous reading record and discovered my ultimate favorite reads. So without further ado, here’s my 2020 end of year recaps.

2020 READING STATS

Number Of Books You Read : 65 books

Number of Re-Reads : 5 books

Genre You Read The Most From :

  • Contemporary (29 books)
  • Fantasy (25 books)
  • Historical Fiction (4 books)
  • Mystery (2 books)
  • Classic (2 books)
  • Romance (1 book)
  • Science Fiction (1 book)

Continue reading “2020 End of Year Recaps”

movie and series

Top 5 K-Dramas I Watched in 2020

It’s a truth universally acknowledged that 2020 sucks, but on the positive side (for me, at least), this year I manage to read more books and watch more k-dramas than ever! Beside books, k-dramas are my source of happiness since I spent like, 70% of the year at home. Because of that, this year I finished 21 k-dramas (and still watching 2 ongoing k-dramas), and some of them become my favorites. So today, I’m going to share top 5 k-dramas I watched in 2020 (and you can watch all of this through Netflix!).

5. Moon Embracing the Sun (2012)

Starring : Kim Soo-hyun, Han Ga-in, Jung Il-woo
This drama was produced in 2012, so cinematography-wise, it’s still awful if you compare it to dramas produced in 2020. But plot-wise, Moon Embracing the Sun has everything that made historical (sageuk) my favorite k-drama genre : court intrigue, scheming and backstabbing, and romance. It follows Crown Prince Lee Hwon who fell in love and got bethroted to Heo Yeon-woo, a noblewoman. But due to the Queen Dowager’s interference, Yeon-woo got sick, lost her memory and presumed dead. Years later, they met each other again, now as king and a shaman in the palace.

Continue reading “Top 5 K-Dramas I Watched in 2020”
top ten tuesday

Tiffany’s Winter 2020 TBR

Can you believe that 2020 will be over in 16 days? Despite being my (and probably everyone) worst year, I read way more compared to the previous years and discovered lots of great books, so there’s that. Anyway, before we dive into my Winter TBR list, let’s take a look at my Fall TBR and see how well I stick to my own list :

In Fall, I planned to read these books :
1. The Dragon Republic by R.F. Kuang ✔️
2. Jade City by Fonda Lee ✔️
3. Jade War by Fonda Lee ❌
4. Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco ✔️
5. These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong ✔️
6. Loveless by Alice Oseman ❌
7. The Burning God by R.F. Kuang ✔️

Considering I usually only read like, 2 books from my list, 5 out of 7 books is my best record so far!

Continue reading “Tiffany’s Winter 2020 TBR”
monthly recap

Monthly Recap : November ’20

Can you believe that we’ve passed 11 MONTHS in 2020? I feel like March is just a few weeks ago, when in reality we’re just 4 weeks away from 2021 😱

November is probably my happiest month so far (I mean, as happy as one can be when one’s still not allowed to leave the house) because I FINALLY SUBMITTED MY UNDERGRAD THESIS. I’ve been working on it, give or take, since March and I’m just glad it’s done. Now I’m just waiting for my defense date, and if I pass it, your girl is (un)officially graduated this year! Beside uni-related things, I didn’t do much except scrolling through social media and playing with my cat.

Continue reading “Monthly Recap : November ’20”