monthly recap

Monthly Recap : November ’20

Can you believe that we’ve passed 11 MONTHS in 2020? I feel like March is just a few weeks ago, when in reality we’re just 4 weeks away from 2021 😱

November is probably my happiest month so far (I mean, as happy as one can be when one’s still not allowed to leave the house) because I FINALLY SUBMITTED MY UNDERGRAD THESIS. I’ve been working on it, give or take, since March and I’m just glad it’s done. Now I’m just waiting for my defense date, and if I pass it, your girl is (un)officially graduated this year! Beside uni-related things, I didn’t do much except scrolling through social media and playing with my cat.

Continue reading “Monthly Recap : November ’20”

book tag

Pumpkin Spice Latte Book Tag

Hi everyone! Fall might be over, but it’s never too late to do Fall-themed book tag. Writing this tag made me realize how much I miss going to cafe and drinking these beverages, but alas, I don’t think I can do it anytime soon given my country’s situations. Anyway, thanks to Belle @ This Belle Reads Too for tagging me in the Pumpkin Spice Latte book tag!

RULES

  • Link back to the original post
  • Thank the person who tagged you
  • Do the prompts below
  • Tag some friends
  • Most importantly – have fun!
Continue reading “Pumpkin Spice Latte Book Tag”
5 stars · arc · book review

ARC Review : These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

Title : These Violent Delights
Author : Chloe Gong
Genre : YA fantasy, historical-fiction
Series : These Violent Delights #1
Release Date : November 17th, 2020
Publisher : Margaret K. McElderry Books

Rating: 5 out of 5.

GOODREADS | PURCHASE

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love…and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns—and grudges—aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

Continue reading “ARC Review : These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong”

4.5 stars · arc · book review

ARC Review : Chasing Lucky by Jenn Bennett

Title : Chasing Lucky
Author : Jenn Bennett
Genre : YA contemporary
Release Date : May 5th, 2020 (UK); November 10th, 2020 (US)
Publisher : Simon Pulse

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

GOODREADS | PURCHASE

Budding photographer Josie Saint-Martin has spent half her life with her single mother, moving from city to city. When they return to her historical New England hometown years later to run the family bookstore, Josie knows it’s not forever. Her dreams are on the opposite coast, and she has a plan to get there.

What she doesn’t plan for is a run-in with the town bad boy, Lucky Karras. Outsider, rebel…and her former childhood best friend. Lucky makes it clear he wants nothing to do with the newly returned Josie. But everything changes after a disastrous pool party, and a poorly executed act of revenge lands Josie in some big-time trouble—with Lucky unexpectedly taking the blame.

Determined to understand why Lucky was so quick to cover for her, Josie discovers that both of them have changed, and that the good boy she once knew now has a dark sense of humor and a smile that makes her heart race. And maybe, just maybe, he’s not quite the brooding bad boy everyone thinks he is…

Continue reading “ARC Review : Chasing Lucky by Jenn Bennett”

monthly recap

Monthly Recap : October ’20

We’ve officially entered the rainy season in my part of the world, but instead of getting colder, it keep getting hotter and hotter. Usually I didn’t mind it as much since I spend most of my time at uni, where I’m at air-conditioned rooms almost all time. But now that I’m at home, it feels more unbearable. I can’t even take a good ol’ nap during the day anymore. On the positive side, this means more time doing productive things.

In general, my October was much better than the previous months. I’m still doing my thesis most of the time, but the progress was much better so I didn’t have many breakdowns. I was also able to relax more and do other things. Also, I went out to the mall for the first time since March! It wasn’t really for fun since I have to do something there, but it’s still nice to go somewhere other than the grocery store.

Continue reading “Monthly Recap : October ’20”

3.5 stars · arc · book review

ARC Review : Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

Title : Kingdom of the Wicked
Author : Kerri Maniscalco
Series : Kingdom of the Wicked #1
Genre : YA fantasy
Release Date : October 27th, 2020
Publisher : Hodder & Stoughton

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

GOODREADS | PURCHASE

Two sisters.

One brutal murder.

A quest for vengeance that will unleash Hell itself…

And an intoxicating romance.

Emilia and her twin sister Vittoria are streghe – witches who live secretly among humans, avoiding notice and persecution. One night, Vittoria misses dinner service at the family’s renowned Sicilian restaurant. Emilia soon finds the body of her beloved twin…desecrated beyond belief. Devastated, Emilia sets out to find her sister’s killer and to seek vengeance at any cost-even if it means using dark magic that’s been long forbidden.

Then Emilia meets Wrath, one of the Wicked-princes of Hell she has been warned against in tales since she was a child. Wrath claims to be on Emilia’s side, tasked by his master with solving the series of women’s murders on the island. But when it comes to the Wicked, nothing is as it seems…

Continue reading “ARC Review : Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco”

recommendation

21 Upcoming 2021 Books by Asian Authors

We still have a little more than 2 months left of 2020, but it’s never too early to start hyping up books! It made me happy that there are A LOT of amazing books hitting the shelves in 2021, especially books by Asian authors. So here it is, a list of 21 books written by Asian authors that I can’t wait to get my hands on (sorted by release date) :
*note: this list feature books by Asian authors, but doesn’t necessarily mean the characters are also Asian (though most of them are!)

A Taste for Love by Jennifer Yen
Release Date : February 2nd, 2021
What is it about? Pride and Prejudice featuring baking competition, where a girl found herself in the middle of matchmaking orchestrated by her mother

Continue reading “21 Upcoming 2021 Books by Asian Authors”

5 stars · arc · book review

ARC Review : The Invisible Life of Addie Larue by V.E. Schwab

Title : The Invisible Life of Addie Larue
Author : V.E. Schwab
Genre : Adult Fantasy
Release Date : October 6th, 2020
Publisher : Titan Books

Rating: 5 out of 5.

GOODREADS | PURCHASE

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever-and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore, and he remembers her name.

Continue reading “ARC Review : The Invisible Life of Addie Larue by V.E. Schwab”

monthly recap

Monthly Recap : September ’20

Does anyone feel like time move faster and faster these days? I’ve now begin to think that 24 hours a day is not enough. Ever since this semester started back in August, I’ve been trying to catch up on my undergrad thesis, and September is no different. There are zero days that I didn’t open my laptop to do it (yes, even on Sunday), and it made me so stressful. I’ve been trying to meditate to calm things down, so if you have any tips or books about meditating/self-help I’d greatly appreciate it

On a less stressful note, I finally got a kindle! I usually read e-books on my phone, but since online learning started I’ve been staring at my laptop too often and my eyes hurt. Having a kindle definitely make reading easier. I highly recommend it if you’re thinking of getting it!

Continue reading “Monthly Recap : September ’20”

top ten tuesday

Tiffany’s Fall 2020 TBR

Hi everyone! It’s time for another seasonal TBR list. I honestly can’t believe time pass so quickly, it feels like I just wrote my summer TBR list a few days ago. Anyway, before we dive into my fall TBR, let’s take a look at my summer TBR, shall we?

In summer, I plan to read these books :
1. Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin ✔️
2. Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles ✔️
3. More than Maybe by Erin Hahn ✔️
4. Wicked Fox by Kat Cho ❌
5. The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu ❌
6. Caraval & Legendary by Stephanie Garber ❌ Continue reading “Tiffany’s Fall 2020 TBR”