5 stars · book review

Review : A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

Title : A Conjuring of Light
Author : V.E. Schwab
Series : Shades of Magic #3
Genre : YA fantasy
Release Date : February 28th, 2017
Publisher : Titan Books

Rating: 5 out of 5.

GOODREADS | PURCHASE

Witness the fate of beloved heroes – and enemies.
THE BALANCE OF POWER HAS FINALLY TIPPED…
The precarious equilibrium among four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise.
WHO WILL CRUMBLE?
Kell – once assumed to be the last surviving Antari – begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. And in the wake of tragedy, can Arnes survive?
WHO WILL RISE?
Lila Bard, once a commonplace – but never common – thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery of the Night Spire collects his crew, attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible.
WHO WILL TAKE CONTROL?
And an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown while a fallen hero tries to save a world in decay.

*This review contains no spoiler for A Conjuring of Light, but will contain spoiler of A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows

Have you ever read a book that’s so good that it actually broke you–both in the best and worst possible way? Well, A Conjuring of Light is one of those book for me. When I finished this book earlier, I immediately lie down in my bed, trying to process my thoughts and feelings. And then I reach my phone and began writing this review in there, because I didn’t have any energy left to grab my laptop and I just need to let it all out. Which is why, a little warning, this review might be a little bit out of place and messy, because that’s what I were right after I finished this book.

The thing is, I truly didn’t expect ACOL to hurt like this. I love the previous books, ADSOM and AGOS, of course, but they didn’t make me think and feel like this (and they certainly didn’t hurt this deep). ACOL started immediately after the ending of AGOS. Lila was trying to save Kell, who’s a world away. Meanwhile, Osaron (in Holland’s body), went to Red London and and wreak havoc by casting a fog across Red London. At first glance, I thought ACOL was gonna be like other fantasy books–somehow they’ll find a way to stop Osaron and live happily ever after. But no, looking back at the previous books, I should’ve known it won’t be that simple. ACOL has something that most fantasy books lack–loss–and lots of it. Don’t get me wrong, most fantasy books certainly have loss in it, but for me, it pales in comparison. Be it loss of loved ones, loss of power, or loss of part of themselves, you’ll find it here, and you will find a lot. And those who survive didn’t escape unscathed, either. Losses are what makes ACOL felt so real, and why it really broke me.

Now, let’s move to less sad things that I love from this book. Firstly, there’s V.E. Schwab’s writing, which is beautiful and inspiring. I read Shades of Magic in a row, and I feel like with each book I read her writing gets better and more beautiful (which is why it took me a week to ACOL. I’m devouring every word of it). Secondly, the character development are really great. We get to know more of Lila, Kell, Rhy, Alucard, the king and queen of Red London (who I previously hated but probably not so much now), Tieren, Hastra, and of course, Holland. All those characters have grown up and/or learned a thing or two throughout the series. And of course, now I understand why everyone loves Holland so much and would protect him at all cost (also, if you’ve read it, the last chapter in his POV really hurt me. I’m sobbing mostly because of it). And thirdly, while the relationship (both romantic or not) here is definitely not the focus, I still love every part of it. Kell and Rhy’s brotherly loves are goals, as well as Kell and Lila’s banter. Also, I really love the hate-relationship between Kell and Alucard! I can’t get enough of it in AGOS, and V.E. Schwab really bless us with more of it here.

All in all, Shades of Magic is undoubtedly one of my favorite series now. If you haven’t read it, please please try it! I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

“Love and loss are like a ship and the sea. They rise together. The more we love, the more we have to lose. But the only way to avoid loss is to avoid love. And what a sad world that would be.”

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

5 thoughts on “Review : A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

  1. I’m so glad you liked this book so much! Shades of Magic is my all-time favourite series and ACOL was such a perfect finale. I haven’t read Schwab’s other works but I hope to do so soon!

    Like

  2. I’m due a reread for the entire Shades of Magic series but I keep putting it off because I’m too scared to be destroyed the way ACOL destroyed me the first time! Amazing review 🙂

    Like

  3. Omg yay Tiffany, SO GLAD you loved this one. The third book in my opinion is the best of the trio and was one of my 2019 favourites. SUCH a good book and ah I lowkey already want to reread it even though it feels like I only just read it haha. Loved this review <3<3

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.