top ten tuesday

10 New Favorite Authors I Discovered in 2020

Hello everyone! Back in 2020, I manage to read a total of 65 books, and more than half of them (46 books, to be exact) are by authors whose books I’ve never read before. So today, I’m going to feature 10 new favorite authors that I discovered in 2020. This is honestly harder than it sounds since I read lots of great books last year (in fact, I think 2020 is my best reading year so far!), but I manage to narrow it down to 10 authors. Without further ado, here they are :

1. R.F. Kuang
Book(s) read : 3 (The Poppy War, The Dragon Republic, The Burning God)
Given that The Poppy War trilogy is my favorite series in 2020, I think she deserves the #1 spot in this list. I’ve never been more glad to pick up a book, since I learn so much about my own history and ancestry through this series. I’m definitely going to re-read TPW again this year!

2. Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Book(s) read : 1 (Gods of Jade and Shadow)
Many people read and loved Moreno-Garcia’s Mexican Gothic last year, and though I did buy that book, I decide to read Gods of Jade and Shadow first. GoJaS ended up as one of the most beautiful book that I read in 2020. If you love yearning as much as I do, you won’t be disappointed by this one.

3. Jordan Ifueko
Book(s) read : 1 (Raybearer)
Jordan Ifueko released her debut last year, titled Raybearer, and it’s an amazing and engaging fantasy! From the lush settings to the diverse cast, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed with this book.

4. Chloe Gong
Book(s) read : 1 (These Violent Delights)
Chloe Gong also released her debut, These Violent Delights, last year, and it might be one of the best historical-fiction I’ve ever read. These Violent Delights is set in 1920s Shanghai and features both gangster and monster, so it’s hard to not love this book ❤

5. Roshani Chokshi
Book(s) read : 3 (The Gilded Wolves, The Silvered Serpents, Aru Shah and the End of Time)
After hearing lots of good things about Roshani Chokshi’s books, I finally caved in and read The Gilded Wolves. It wasn’t quite what I originally expected, but that doesn’t mean I dislike it. On the contrary, I love it (especially the riddles parts! She is truly a genius) that I end up reading a total of 3 of her books in 2020.

6. June Hur
Book(s) read : 1 (The Silence of Bones)
If you’ve been following me for a while, you’d probably realize that I’m a huge fan of k-dramas, especially historical-fiction k-dramas (I talk about it more here). So when I heard that June Hur’s debut, The Silence of Bones, is set in the Joseon period, I knew I had to read it. The Silence of Bones is a murder mystery that takes place in 1800s Joseon, and I think it’s the first YA books (as far as I know, at least) that takes place in this period. It was truly mesmerizing, and I feel like I was really transported back in time.

7. Akemi Dawn Bowman
Book(s) read : 2 (Summer Bird Blue, Harley in the Sky)
I read Bowman’s Summer Bird Blue on a whim since I was looking for a new reads, and I love it so much. It was really beautiful and sad at the same time. I also read her latest book, Harley in the Sky, and it’s very enchanting. Definitely looking forward to read her next books!

8. Elizabeth Acevedo
Book(s) read : 1 (Clap When You Land)
I haven’t read that many books in audiobook format, but I can say with certainty that Elizabeth Acevedo’s audiobooks are the best. It’s truly one-of-a-kind experience hearing Acevedo narrates her own books. I literally got chills when I heard it. I only read Clap When You Land back in 2020, but I’m planning to read her other books this year.

9. Nghi Vo
Book(s) read : 1 (The Empress of Salt and Fortune)
You know authors have a good writing when their book is only 100+ pages long, and yet they manage to write a captivating story that spoke to your heart. The Empress of Salt and Fortune might be short, but that doesn’t mean the story is lacking by any means. I genuinely can’t wait to read the sequel and Vo’s 2021 book, The Chosen and the Beautiful (which is a Great Gatsby retelling!).

10. Fonda Lee
Book(s) read : 1 (Jade City)
I’ve heard about how good Jade City is for approximately 389462 times, so I decide to read it and they were right! Jade City is an intriguing and exquisite story set in 1970s Hongkong-inspired city, featuring two rival clans who are trying to take control of the city. I’m honestly in awe with the complexity of this book, and it proves that Fonda Lee is an amazing writer. I haven’t read the sequel yet, but I’m going to make it a priority this year before the third book comes out.

Have you read any book by these authors? Do you love these books too? Who’s your favorite author(s) in 2020?

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

18 thoughts on “10 New Favorite Authors I Discovered in 2020

  1. Nghi Vo made my list this week, too! I really need to read Jade City and Raybearer this year and I want to try Elizabeth Acevedo’s work, too. Silvia Moreno-Garcia is one of my favourite authors–her debut novel, Signal to Noise, is brilliant and not enough people have read it–and The Silence of Bones is one I keep thinking of picking up, so I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it!

    Like

  2. Great list, Tiffany!! 🥰🥰 I would also have R. F. Kuang, Chloe Gong and Elizabeth Acevedo on my list of new authors that I discovered and loved, if I had written one hahaha Each one of their books was amazing! I still have to read The Burning God, though (and I’m not looking forward to the pain). And while Clap When You Land didn’t become a favourite of mine, I loved the writing style, so I really wanna read more of Acevedo’s books! 🥰

    Like

  3. I read Raybearer last year, too, and absolutely loved it! I think Jordan Ifueko will do great things as far as writing goes. 😀 Can’t wait to read more of her. I also read The Gilded Wolves and The Silvered Serpents and ended up absolutely loving both of them! I really enjoyed the puzzles, but I think I liked the squad even more, and I was so invested in these poor characters and their struggles.

    Like

  4. Ugh I’m so so so behind on blog posts so apologies for this late comment which might even be irrelevant,,, but this was so lovely to read. I’m so glad you had a wonderful reading year and I LOVE your list of authors.

    Chloe Gong is DEFINITELY also on my list omg I LOVE HER!! And Elizabeth Acevedo, she’s amazing. Though I’ve only read TPX so far by her. Need to change that. I also recently got around to Akemi Dawn Bowman and though I didn’t adore Starfish, it was still super good don’t get me wrong, I can’t wait to read more of her works!! And I… haven’t read any of the others. Very pumped to read The Poppy War and Raybearer omg.

    Lots of love to youuuu <3<3<3

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.