monthly recap

Monthly Recap : May ’21

Hello hello everyone! I’m (sort of) back! I have to take an unexpected hiatus since February due to personal reasons, but (hopefully) I’m now back for good since I do miss blogging and reading. Anyway, a lot has happened on my life during the last 3 months. First thing first, I’m officially graduated! Back in March, I attended my online graduation ceremony. Honestly, I’m a bit sad since I didn’t get the ‘graduation vibes’ at all (and not to mention the internet connection was laggy), but since the pandemic is still going strong here, there’s not much I can do.

Secondly, I also got a job! It’s part of the reasons why I have to take a hiatus, since work-life is very different compared to school-life so I had to do some adjusting. If I’m being honest, this job weren’t exactly my dream job, or even something that I’m interested in. Unfortunately, there weren’t many job openings now thanks to pandemic, so I’m lucky and grateful that I even got one. I’m just gonna do the best that I can do now, and hope that I got better job in the future.

Thanks to my job I barely have any time to do anything else, except watching tv series/k-dramas and playing Genshin Impact! Since February, I manage to finish 11 tv series/k-dramas, some of which became my new faves: Mouse, Vincenzo, Alice in Borderland, and The Queen’s Gambit. I definitely recommend those series if you’re looking for something to watch. In the next few months, I’m planning to watch some tv series that has been on my watchlist for a while: The Irregulars, Love Alarm S2, Chilling Adventures of Sabrina S4, and Bridgerton. Let me know which one I should watch first!

Since my last recap, I manage to post a grand total of 2 posts(!!), so please check it out:

Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas (Review)
The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He (Review)

I only read like, 3-4 books in May, but since my last recap I’ve read 11 books so far! Here’s what I read since February:

You Deserve Each Other by Sarah Hogle – 3.5/5 stars
The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna – 3/5 stars
Frostbite by Richelle Mead – 3/5 stars
Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare – 4/5 stars
Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas – 4/5 stars
Down Comes the Night by Allison Saft – 3.5/5 stars
From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout – 3.5/5 stars
A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire by Jennifer L. Armentrout – 2/5 stars
The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He – 4/5 stars
Counting Down with You by Tashie Bhuiyan – 3/5 stars
Twice Shy by Sarah Hogle – 4/5 stars

Sarah Hogle is officially my new favorite romance author since You Deserve Each Other and Twice Shy are just so cute ❤ As expected, Joan He’s second book, The Ones We’re Meant to Find, is just as good as her first one. I also didn’t expect to like From Blood and Ash, but sadly, the second book was quite disappointing. Overall though, I enjoy most of the books I read!

In June, I’m also planning to read at least these books:
Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé (which was released yesterday!!)
She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan
Perfect on Paper by Sophie Gonzales
Caraval by Stephanie Garber (hopefully I also could read the rest of the series!)

I’m excited to read all of these books since they’re all sound wonderful! If you’ve read any of these titles, do tell me which one I should read first ❤

How’s your May? What is your favorite reads this month? What books do you plan to read in June?

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

5 thoughts on “Monthly Recap : May ’21

  1. tiffany! i’m SO glad to see you back! congratulations on graduating! i also really enjoyed reading the gilded ones, the ones we’re meant to find, counting down with you, and lost in the never woods! you deserve each other, and twice shy are both on my tbr, so i hope i like them as much as you did! perfect on paper was such a wonderful read, and though i haven’t read the other 3 – i’ve heard the absolute best things about she who became the sun and ace of spades – as well as some mixed reviews for caraval!

    i can’t wait to read more of your posts *hopefully* soon! i hope june treats you well! 💖💖

    Like

  2. Congratulations on getting a job! 💛 I hope you’ll soon set up a good work-life balance. Those are some interesting titles you read: I hope to read Counting Down With You & Ones We’re Meant To Find soon. 😍 I’m hoping to read She Who Became the Sun, Ace of Spades, and Perfect on Paper this month too!

    Like

  3. Congrats on getting a job and graduating! It’s hilarious how you had your grad ceremony earlier than mine lol, I still haven’t mine since the uni insisting on having an offline graduation ceremony. It kept getting postponed and now they decided on online, but honestly everyone is not feeling it since it’s been almost a year since we all graduated hahaha!

    Have a great June!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.