top ten tuesday

Books I Rarely Talk About (But I Love Them!)

this week’s topic is books i rarely talk about in my blog, and not surprisingly, i have lots of books that fit into this category because apparently i like to talk about the same book over and over again. anyway, here’s some books that i love but never/rarely made an appearance in here :

her royal highness by rachel hawkins
this is the spin-off to royals (or prince charming), and it’s basically a sapphic love story set in a boarding school! this book gave me a lot of of wild child vibes, which is one of my favorite movie. oh, and did i mention it’s also a hate-to -love story?

letters to the lost by brigid kemmerer
i recently read this one (which is probably why i haven’t talk about it in my blog), and it’s wonderful. this book mostly deals with grief, but brigid’s writing is beautiful that i can’t help but loving this book.

don’t date rosa santos by nina moreno
another beautiful book that i really love! don’t date rosa santos tells a story about life as diaspora, where most people are caught between two cultures and two places. the main character is cuban-american, but i think lots of diaspora teens could relate to this book.

10 blind dates by ashley elston
if you’re looking for a book with A++ family relationship, definitely try this one! all the blind dates in this book are set by various family members, and some of them were quite hilarious. also, there were a lot of food description here, so prepare to be hungry 😉

the sun is also a star by nicola yoon
okay, i think i’ve talk about this book a few times in my blog, but all of it were about how this book has been in my TBR for a long time. i don’t think i’ve mentioned how awesome this book is! i finally read it this year (after 4 years!!) and it inspire me to live in the moment.

to kill a kingdom by alexandra christo
i read this last year (i think?) and i love it so much. it’s basically a darker retelling of the little mermaid with slow-burn/hate-to-love romance. i don’t really remember much of it so re-read is definitely in order.

house of salt and sorrows by erin a. craig
i think this was the first books with horror-element that i love. house of salt and sorrows is a creepy and haunting, yet beautiful retelling of the twelve dancing princess. it’s also quite cinematic, so the whole time i was reading it, i feel like i was watching a movie instead of reading.

when we collided by emery lord
this is the first book by emery lord that i read, so i didn’t expect to love this book so much. it deals with grief and mental illness, specifically bipolar disorder, and through this book i learn a lot about it.

girl against the universe by paula stokes
another book with mentall illness rep, specifically PTSD. maguire was around when accidents happen, so she consider herself as bad-luck. as far as i know, the mental illness rep is pretty accurate, and i manage to learn a thing or two about PTSD from this book.

summer bird blue by akemi dawn bowman
to be fair, i’m actually still reading this one, but i’m almost done with it and i already know that i’ll love this book. it deals with grief a lot, but it’s also a journey toward finding and knowing yourself. i also have to say that the aro/ace rep in this book are amazing!

have you read any of these books? what books you rarely talk about?

22 thoughts on “Books I Rarely Talk About (But I Love Them!)

  1. To kill a kingdom is still unread on my tbr because I feel like I might need more brainpower to follow that one. I’m quite curious though. From the synopsis I feel like this book should definitely have a bad ending. 🙂

    Like

  2. I haven’t read any of these books but definitely some of them are on my TBR! House Of Salt and Sorrows wasn’t, but after your short review on it, it caught my attention! Now I really want to read it💖
    Most of the books I rarely talk about are some that I’ve read years ago and kind of forgot about them, but still love them. Like Colleen Hoover’s Confess and Ugly Love

    Like

  3. I’ve only read ROSA SANTOS from your list. I love the community the author created in that book because it was so warm, colorful, and lively. The rest of the novel drove me a little crazy, though, for various reasons. I know I’m in the minority on that one – I’m glad you and so many other loved the book through and through 🙂

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    Like

  4. I haven’t read any of the books on your list, but all of them are books that I’ve had on my TBR for soo long! I’ve heard a lot of positive things about Her Royal Highness especially and I love the book cover. Two of my favorite books recently have been The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and Miracle Creek, both of which I never reviewed on my blog but have become some of my favorite reads of 2020.

    claire @ clairefy

    Like

  5. Letters to the Lost is a book I love but don’t talk about on my blog a lot either! I find it so interesting how much everyone loves A Curse So Dark and Lonely, and how frequently I see that book mentioned, but I rarely see anyone talk about her fabulous contemporary works!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.